Posted by: tinyoliphant | May 29, 2010

Birthdays

The first birthday party I ever had was in first grade. I was new to the school that year and had invited everyone in class to my party. All I wanted was to have some friends. One person came. The rest decided to go to this other girl’s party instead because she had ponies. I couldn’t compete with ponies.

For my birthday in second grade, the two girls who were always mean and cruel were nice to me. I didn’t really have any friends so I was so happy and excited.  During lunch, the teacher told me to pick two people to help me pass out my cupcakes to the class and I chose them. During the last recess, when I asked if they wanted to play, they scoffed and said, “Did you really think we wanted to be your friend?” It turned out that they were only nice to me because they wanted to pass out the cupcakes.

In fourth grade, the teacher decided that everyone who finished the homework assignment that day would get a treat: an orange sherbert and vanilla ice cream swirl cup…the things that you would eat with the little wooden paddle. The assignment was long division and I didn’t finish because I didn’t know how to do it and my parents couldn’t help me. So I sat at my little desk trying very hard not to cry as everyone else in the class was eating ice cream but me…on my birthday.

I became the little girl who dreaded and hated birthdays. Birthdays were cruel and unfair and miserable. As I’ve gotten older, I’ve tried to do everything I could to make it up to my younger self. For some reason, I still wanted to believe in birthdays.

This year was absolutely wonderful. So many friends came to my party and it was fun and happy and everything I had hoped it would be. The past couple of years were great too, but there was something about this year that really struck something in me. I finally felt like I could go back to that little girl and tell her that things turned out okay. She finally got what she wanted.

Responses

  1. <3! Never again, agreed.

  2. :)


Leave a Reply

Categories

