Posted by: tinyoliphant | March 11, 2010

25 Things About Me

  1. I was once told, as a compliment, that I talked like a guy.
  2. My room is painted bright green with brown trim.
  3. I have huge calves and I’m really self-conscious about it.
  4. I love pretty dresses and skirts. The prettiest ones make my heart skip a beat.
  5. My favorite thing is wake up late on a Sunday morning and having the whole house to myself. My ritual is to make myself breakfast (usually eggs and hash browns) and watch marathons of Monk and Psych on the USA Network.
  6. I’m an introvert in the classic sense. Being around people for too long tires me out. I love my alone time. I rarely get bored.
  7. It both saddens and amuses me how many cute/hot girls from high school have gotten really fat.
  8. I grew up speaking Vietnamese, but English is my best language. I have studied French almost every year since I was 12 years old. I’ve made half-hearted attempts at learning Chinese and Spanish and I wish I had more energy/dedication to learn then full heartedly.
  9. During my elementary school years, every time I made a best friend, they moved away by the end of the year. I lost six friends that way. I’ve gotten back in touch with them, more or less, but it will never be the same.
  10. I’m a bad driver, but at least I admit it.
  11. I realised the other day that after I stop living with my mom, I will never, ever, in my life, eat as well ever again. She is the best cook I have ever known. And no just me, everyone says that, complete strangers say that. She is amazing.
  12. I love good food. It makes me so happy. I believe in spending money on good food. And spending time on good food.
  13. All my siblings are a generation older than me. I often felt like I was an only child growing up. It was lonely.
  14. Most people are surprised to hear how old I am when they first meet me. They always say that I look so young. I’m 22, and recently I’ve gotten anywhere from 18 all the way down to 14. It’s annoying most of the time.
  15. All through high school, I wanted to be a sports writer. I was good too…even won a couple writing awards.
  16. I know more about the French Revolution that any other period of history. It was a very fascinating time.
  17. I make delicious waffles. It’s the only food that my mom specifically requests that I make for her.
  18. I have an unused Paris metro ticket in my wallet that I have been carrying with me since my trip there in 2004. Ask me, and I’ll show you sometime.
  19. I love Beard Papa cream puffs and it just breaks my heart that they’re so goddamned expensive.
  20. I didn’t get my driver’s license until the summer after my freshman year of college. I failed driver’s ed when I was 16 and I was so traumatized that I couldn’t bear to try again until then.
  21. My favorite color is yellow. It’s such a happy color.
  22. I had a big crush on one of my TAs once and ended up signing up for a 300-level class that wasn’t in my major just because he was teaching it. The class material ended up teaching me so much and changing my views on the world that it lead me to altering my career path.
  23. My favorite movie is The Godfather. My favorite book is The Brothers Karamazov. I love stories about families.
  24. I have a semi-rare, non-life-threatening lung condition. It used to be a big part of my life, but now I don’t even think about it anymore. Sometimes my ribs tell me if it’s snowing outside.
  25. My dad’s dad was the only grandparent I ever knew. He lived with us and raised me just as much as my parents did. When I was born, he said that he would try to live long enough to see me start elementary school. When he passed away a couple summers ago, he left me all his money, which wasn’t a whole lot. Under my mom’s recommendation, I used it to buy a diamond ring as a memento. The idea behind it was that if I just put the money in the bank, it would get spent and then it would just be gone. Diamonds are forever, or so they say. The last time I wore it was in Husky Stadium, so he could be there when I graduated from college.
Responses

  1. i like this, thanks for sharing!

    a few comments:
    my #3 is worse than your #3.
    i didn’t know about #15, and i want to know more about about #22!


Leave a Reply

Categories

